Application Versions

Bubble lets you work on a version of your app, while the live version that is visible to your users stays the same. When you are ready to push the changes you have made to your development app, you can deploy to your live version. This section covers these key concepts.

Application Versions

A Bubble application always has two versions. A live version, which is the version that your users will be using, and the development version, on which you will work on. If your app is called 'marketplace', each version will have a different URL. The live version will be accessible athttps://marketplace.bubbleapps.io

while the development version will be found athttps://marketplace.bubbleapps.io/version-test/

Note that the live version can also be found athttps://marketplace.bubbleapps.io/version-live/

(it is quite unusual to use such a URL).

You can switch between both versions in the editor via the Version dropdown.

The live version of your application is read-only. You can inspect it in the Editor, and use the Data Tab or the Logs Tab to inspect your app's data and activity, but you cannot modify the layout, workflows and data structure. The way you modify the live app is by starting modifying the development app, and then by deploying to live.

Both versions have a different database. Users, things that have been created in development mode will not exist in live mode. If you need to copy over some data, Bubble lets you do so (see below).

You can protect the development version of your app and request a password to visit it in run mode. This can be useful if you want to hide your recent development work to your users. See the relevant section below.

Deploying to Live

When you're reading to push your recent changes in your Development Version to the live Version, you can use the Deployment and Version control panel. This popup lets you push to live and revert your application to a present point in time, as allowed by your Bubble plan. We'll cover here the deployment process, while this section will explain how reverting to an older version works.

To deploy (push from Development to Live), click on a 'Deploy development to live' and enter a description for your deployment. It is a good discipline to describe precisely what the deployment is about (the kind of changes that are being pushed), as it will help with version control and maintenance down-the-line. When you deploy an app to live, the application itself is being replaced by the newer version, but the database will remain unchanged. Bubble offers some features to copy the database across versions as well, this will be covered in the Maintaining an Application chapter.

Note that you cannot deploy your application is it has issues flagged by the Issue Checker. This protects you from having your app not behave as expected in production. If you try to deploy with issues, you will be prompted to fix these issues. The best approach here is to click on each entry in the issues list and resolve them.

Deploying Selected Changes to Live

In the context where issues have made it to the production version of your application, this feature allows you to apply fixes in 'Development' and have them immediately reflected in 'Live'. Changes that available to deploy are based on the current session in the browser. This means that a refresh of the browser will not carry over available changes from the last session. Please note, this is an advanced feature where a dangerous ordering of applied changes may in fact break your application.

results matching ""

    No results matching ""